Langtons House is a Grade II Listed 18th Century manor house. The house stands in the picturesque landscaped gardens with an ornamental lake, orangery and bath house all dating from the eighteenth century.
The House belonged to the Massu family, Huguenot refugees from France, who became wealthy silk merchants in the City of London. The house was given to Hornchurch Urban District Council in 1929 under the condition that the building must be used for council purposes and the four acres of grounds remain open to the public.
The gardens were originally designed by the famous landscape designer Humphrey Repton situated within the landscaped gardens of Langtons House is the Orangery. It was constructed at the same time as the house (approximately 1760). The upper panes of the glazed sash windows hinged open to give ventilation. The building has a heated rear wall to provide warmth for the plants in winter. The wall has hollow channels running through it and the heat was provided from the boiler house that is situated at the rear of the orangery. During the 2016 garden restoration the roof was renewed with glazed opening windows for ventilation, new terracotta tiled path in the centre aisle.
Would you like to know more about the history of Langtons House or attend one of their open house events?
Contact our Gardens Activity Officer